MY BCM240 RESEARCH- PART ONE

Title… 

INSTAGRAM INTERACTION

This is an insight into the thoughts behind the structure of my digital storytelling project for BCM240.

My first thoughts…

The project began when I started to think about what media, audience and place means to me personally. I realised in terms of media, that my ideas are changing. The reason the once ‘big social media players’ in my life were there were to boost my ego. It was a new and exciting way to distort an image the way I wanted my audience to see it. It is said by Lasen and Gomez-Cruz that the convergence of digital cameras has contributed to the ‘redefinition of public and private and the transformation of their boundaries’. I want to build on this thought by looking at my own photo posts on Instagram and explaining the truth behind what I felt at that time, where I was and when, how I was positioned and why I posted the photo at that moment.

This idea stemmed from…

There are a number of other ideas that have influenced this form of research. Here are some…

1.’The ‘Truth’ Behind Those Amazing Instagram Pics. Can You Handle This?’
http://www.ndtv.com/offbeat/the-truth-behind-those-amazing-instagram-pics-can-you-handle-this-1217927

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 1.07.58 pm

This is an example of the photo series which takes a look into the small Instagram window which we peer into people’s lives everyday.

2. Basics Creative Photography 03: Behind the Image: Research in Photography
 http://www.amazon.co.uk/Basics-Creative-Photography-03-Research/dp/2940411662

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 1.15.08 pm

My inspiration came when I read the statement ‘Through reflection and evaluation we look at how all aspects of research can contribute to the realization of a dynamic body of work that brings a whole new dimension to an image’

3. I think this GIF is self explanatory..

gif kim k

4.  Looking at the meaning of Instagram: Mini-documentary
 http://connect.dpreview.com/post/1219456590/mini-do-instagram-is

Lastly, this mini documentary is probably the biggest influence to my idea. It is an insight into why people use Instagram as a way to ‘connect to the world and each other’.

The theme for this project…

The theme of this project is the influence spatiality has on the dimension of an image and how in turn this effects the way an audience perceives this image.

Let me know in the comments what you think about this idea or any alterations I could make 🙂

2 thoughts on “MY BCM240 RESEARCH- PART ONE

Leave a Reply

