YOGA CLARITY MAKES A BUSY LIFESTYLE ALL TOO CLEAR

In today’s BUSY society we are living in a world where our time is valuable, we squeeze as much as we can into our days and the days are feeling shorter than ever. This means we prefer to get things done more quickly and this is also why ‘getting things done’ (GTD) has developed a new consumer market. Where apps and technological devices are focusing on more ways to use our time wisely thus fitting more into our days.

Today, I legitimately got up in the middle of a yoga class because of the anxiety and disconnection from my phone and with what I assumed was ‘important’ quickly wrote a ‘things to do’ in my notes. I don’t know about you, but I clearly struggle with the idea of yoga and its connection with clarity. With this occurring, I wanted to know how my mum acted in the same space (at yoga) with the same busy lifestyle. As a result, she suffered the same distracted mind, the clarity of yoga made our busy lifestyles all too clear. An article on ’how to improve concentration and mental clarity’ argues that ‘multitasking is a myth’. Once we reach beyond walking and talking ‘you are sacrificing the efficiency of one task for another’.

Nonetheless, we still TRY to multitask our lives through the connection we have with our digital devices and as if we don’t multitask enough, why not add a multitasking feature to the Ipad mini where ‘split screen’ is available to run two apps simultaneously.

WE ARE ALL GUILTY SO HERE ARE FIVE WAYS TO STOP MULTITASKING AND START LIVING MINDFULLY

Both mum and I asked the question of whether or not multitasking is healthy for our lifestyles? A study found that University students ‘multitasking on a laptop is a distraction to both users and fellow students and can be detrimental to learning of classroom materials’. When we are outside of a learning space does this have the same effect? I believe yes, from my experience with clarity in yoga class proved how much it takes for me as a person to limit my tasks to one. I believe technology plays a large part in this as we never switch off from the tasks as we are targeted by markets to fit MORE into our devices. Therefore we will never escape, family, friends or work life because we carry them around in our pockets.

I FOUND THIS TED TALK BY Paolo Cardini: Forget multitasking, try monotasking EXTREMELY RELEVANT

2 thoughts on “YOGA CLARITY MAKES A BUSY LIFESTYLE ALL TOO CLEAR

Leave a Reply

