Hide and seek in the world wide web

I was hunting, looking for a sign on every corner, every restaurant on every street in pursuit for the words ‘free wifi’. This was the start of the end for what I had once dreaded had finally become a reality, I was addicted to the internet.

My name is Remy Taylor and as a 19 year old travelling Europe this would not have ever been expected to cross my mind. You would be forgiven for thinking the Colleseum, Eiffel tower and the canals of Venice would be enough to distract me from the world wide web but in fact it was the idea of posting the photos to these sites and keeping in contact with loved ones back home that had led me to the anxious feeling on the days without wifi. When I say days really I mean hours because to my pure amazement the accessibility of free wifi in Europe was overwhelming. The reason I have brought this to your attention in my first blog post for BCM240 is due to the fact I had to fly 24 hours out of Australia to become aware of the disconnection and physical effects the idea of having no wifi placed on me as a person. 

phone-seperation
Image: http://beansouptimes.com/five-signs-might-suffering-iphone-separation-anxiety/

This physical drag had started on the plane when my travel partner and I kept habitually checking our phones even though they were in aeroplane mode and really only could tell the time. It is this notion of comfort that as contemporary humans we are able to access stories regardless of time or people through our phones.

Screen Shot 2015-08-05 at 9.20.05 amImage: Twitter @remelise

This idea tied in nicely with the concept of our media space and led me to reflect on where I stand in this spacial nature of our media experience. As a trusted social media user I strongly believe in the power of promotion and as a journalism student marketing myself is an important factor. I find this fascinating as we are able to experience a nature of connection that would once require you to travel overseas now through the internet. I take advantage of this in a positive way by absorbing the ideas expressed through the internet. In saying that I also abuse the internet as a tool for mending boredom.So in other words if you need me you’ll find me in the corners of the world wide web at twitter.com/Remelise, facebook.com/remy.taylor.3 and instagram.com/remelise/ promoting my life away.  I’ll always be posting my thoughts, my photography and voicing my passions and interests.

3 thoughts on “Hide and seek in the world wide web

  1. Well done, excellent posts. This is funny and tragic at the same time: “This physical drag had started on the plane when my travel partner and I kept habitually checking our phones even though they were in aeroplane mode and really only could tell the time. It is this notion of comfort that as contemporary humans we are able to access stories regardless of time or people through our phones.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

